from Peter John

Down The Road


"The artist's muse moves on down the road" by Tony Karp, http://timuseum.com

Picture by Tony Karp, http://timuseum.com . Used by Permission



Down the Road
By Peter John

Right here my roots are growing.
Right here my corn is tall,
And I know every fencepost
Like a brother.
I’m leaving God this chunk of sod
My sweat has tilled and hoed,
‘Cause I know I’ll find another
Down the road.

Down the road –
I’ll find a place to pitch my tent
And spend the night.
Down the road –
I’ll find some peace of mind
And set the wrong things right.
Right here your touch is velvet
And your kisses burn like flame,
But down the road I’ll find a village
Where nobody knows my name.

Right here we drink of friendship.
Right here we sip of love,
Applauding every honest
Man and cheater.
But in this town my jug’s run down,
I’ve paid all that I owed,
And the water will be sweeter
Down the road.

Down the road –
I’ll find a place to pitch my tent
And spend the night.
Down the road –
I’ll find some peace of mind
And set the wrong things right.
Right here your touch is velvet
And your kisses burn like flame,
But down the road I’ll find a village
Where nobody knows my name.

My thoughts of you weigh more
Than any treasure in my pack,
And that’s the only reason
I might have for coming back.

Right here I saw you smiling.
Right here I took your hand,
And never thought my future
Could be brighter.
Since I can’t flee you’re memory
I’ll bear the heavy load,
But the burden will be lighter
Down the road.

Down the road –
I’ll find a place to pitch my tent
And spend the night.
Down the road –
I’ll find some peace of mind
And set the wrong things right.
Right here your touch is velvet
And your kisses burn like flame,
But down the road I’ll find a village
Where nobody knows my name –
Down the road I’ll find a village
Where nobody knows my name.
—-
(c) 2002 by Peter John Stone. All Rights Reserved. Originally published in “Songs in the Key of See” (C) 2006 by Peter John Stone

Leave a Reply

